School of Engineering Departments

About the School of Engineering

The School of Engineering at The University of Mississippi was founded in 1900 beginning its rich history as the oldest engineering school in the state. Instruction in engineering at the University of Mississippi dates from 1854 when a department of engineering was established by the Board of Trustees to complement a strong program in the natural sciences.

Carrier Hall in Spring

The School of Engineering is housed in several buildings on the University campus. Carrier Hall, located on the main circle of University buildings, has recently been renovated and contains the departments of

  • Civil Engineering
  • Geology and Geological Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
Anderson Hall

Anderson Hall, connected to Carrier Hall by a hallway, contains the departments of

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering also has research facilities in the Engineering Science Building located in between Hume and Carrier/Anderson Halls.

Brevard Hall

To the west of Carrier Hall is the newly renovated Brevard Hall, which presently houses the Dean's Office, the Student Support Center, the National Center for Computational Hydroscience, the Mississippi Mineral Research Institute, and the GIS computer lab.

Weir Hall houses the department of Computer Science, as well as the Adler Computer Laboratory.

Location maps and building photographs of Carrier Hall on the University Circle, Anderson Hall overlooking the football stadium, and Weir Hall by the University Williams Library show the central location of the enginering building on campus. A virtual tour of the entire campus can also be taken to see a 360 degree view of several central campus sites.